Chambers Pillar Historical Reserve
Today we trek south along the Finke Road, following the Finke River and also the Old Ghan Railway line. The first train arrived in Alice Springs in 1929 after travelling over 1,520kms from Adelaide through some of the harshest country on Earth. Before this mode of transport all supplies to Alice Springs were carried by the Afghan camels. This line was eventually closed in 1980.
We arrive at Chambers Pillar in time for some lunch. This natural sandstone formation was used by our famous early explorers as a navigational point. John McDouall Stuart first recorded the Pillar in April 1860 and the expedition carvings and signatures can still been seen today.
We return to our resort late afternoon. (B, L, D)